52 Treks in 2012 kick-off!

I live in one of the most beautiful places in the country, the Pacific Northwest.  I moved out to Portland, Oregon in the summer of 2010 from New York City for no other reason than sheer curiosity.  In the 1.5 years I’ve lived here, I’ve only just scratched the surface of what true beauty this part of the country has to offer with a hand full of hikes and a few day trips under my belt.

But here I am, literally, on the eve of 2012. Every New Years, I make a vague resolution (or 5) that I almost never stick to.  But this one is firm, completely concrete. It even has a blog! And that resolution, if not yet obvious, is to go out on 52 hikes in the year 2012.  They don’t have to be 52 different, unique hikes, as I’ve allowed myself to repeat a few hikes I greatly enjoy and perhaps want to share with others. But I will certainly make an effort to vary the hikes as much as possible.  The one firm rule is that this year, I will hit the trails, any trails, 52 times this year.

Aside from taking in the beauty of the Pacific NW, another reason for this resolution is that I am in the midst of losing weight for what is hopefully my fully committed final time before being able to maintain a healthy weight.  Just one month ago I have rejoined Weight Watchers, and have lost 7.4 lbs.  Hiking is something I am giving myself to look forward to this year as a consistent form of exercise.

By creating this blog, I’m hoping to share with others whom are interested the beautiful trails this region has to offer. I will have my camera with me on every hike to capture what nature has to offer on each trail during various seasons throughout the year.  If you’re following me and are familiar with this area, please feel free to leave comments with suggestions for future hikes!

Here’s to a year of hikes!

Hikes Down: 0, Hikes to Go: 52

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to 52 Treks in 2012 kick-off!

  1. I know I said this on Facebook but I’m really serious, I’d love to get out more and have a (as-of-yet) working car– plus a whole bunch of hiking books. Let’s go out soon!!!

Leave a Reply

