Trek #42: Hamilton Mountain (to Rodney and Hardy Falls) (WA)

If there’s one thing I’ve constantly battled with my hikes this year, it’s time. Squeezing in a quality hike when you work 7 days a week before or between two jobs has been an exercise in trimming down a much longer trail but still getting the good quality stuff out of it. I’ve been wanting to hike Hamilton Mountain for a while now, but never seemed to have a good solid day for the 8+ mile ascent. Being winter, I knew the waterfalls on this trek would be roaring and beautiful, so that’s what I decided to hike out to. It was lovely:

beacon rock and hamilton mountain to rodney and hardy falls 069Hardy Falls

beacon rock and hamilton mountain to rodney and hardy falls 071Rodney Falls

While this trek was trimmed down to a 3 mile out and back hike, it was still a nice work out, as the trail ascends steadily all the way out to the falls.  When I was out there it was quite foggy on the trail, but there were peek-out moments where I was afforded some great views:

beacon rock and hamilton mountain to rodney and hardy falls 080 beacon rock and hamilton mountain to rodney and hardy falls 081Overall, the section I hiked on was really beautiful. I’m planning to hike the full trail this summer when I have an entire day to devote to it.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Treks Down: 42, Treks to Go: 10

 

 

 

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

